Why do we desire a path to run on?

I asked myself this question while I was on a run earlier this week, “Why do we deeply desire to be on a path?”

If you can picture this, I was running across a field in order to get to the hard mud path that everyone runs on. Here is an image to help you imagine what this scene looked like.

Open Field with Dirt Path

I have never had such an intense desire to be on that warn down path before. I have run a lot at this place called the “Boulevard” and I will be honest, I usually dislike running on the path. There are so many roots and mud holes from all the wear and tear it receives from runners. I usually desire to run through the field, forging my own path and feeling like a true explorer, if I was to be honest. 🙂

Right now in life I desire for things to be known: my future, the job I will be doing once I graduate in two months, and to know the city my fiancé and I will be living in once we get married in less than three months. There are many questions a senior in college receives from friends and family and I have a deep desire to be able to answer those questions. I think by being on a path, one knows where to go. By being on a path one can see whats coming, maybe it’s a hill which are difficult, but you can prepare for them since you see them. One can also see the downhills, where you can gain speed and relax the body in order to prepare for the next part of the run.

I know I am speaking in a lot of symbolism right now, but God speaks to me in visuals. While I was finishing up my run I saw this scene.

photo1

It was absolutely gorgeous. A bright, white tree shining in a forest that was so dead and dark. I later came upon a verse that perfectly describes this scene and my experience that day. It’s from Isaiah 42:16,

“I will lead the blind by ways they have not known, along unfamiliar paths I will guide them; I will turn the darkness into light before them and make the rough places smooth. These are the things I will do; I will not forsake them.

Its moments like these that the Lord is screaming out to me and saying, “I love you son. Trust in me. Though you may be blind, I will guide you along a path that is already put down before. It is good, and it is for you Chase.”

ChaseClecknerSignature

Leave a comment

Filed under Learning About Yourself

Feel Free to Leave a Comment Here.